Monday Musings: HaveYou  Been Inspired by Travel to Learn More About Something?

On my first trip to Europe, I visited Paris and was amazed by the history, culture, and art. All of a sudden, my eyes were open and I wanted to bring Paris home with me. I read Les Miserables, found the best local croissants, and learned as much as I could about the French Revolution. 

Learning about opulence and why the King lost his head.

Today, my wife, the twins, and I visited the Royal Academy of Art in London and saw the current exhibit Revolution: Russian Art 1917-1932. In case you are wondering, this period represents the revolution until the time Stalin and the state cracked down on non-state sanctioned art. During our brief visit we experienced the founding of a fledgling government, the people’s optimism, famine, and finally hopeless acceptance. 

Russian Art…no photography allowed.

Now, I am searching for books on Russian history through the eyes of the people. (Suggestions welcome!) 

This is why we take our kids to museums as well as playgrounds and theme parks during our travels; we hope to spark a passion in them to learn more about a topic and gain a greater understanding of the world and the people that surround us. 

Have your travels similarly inspired a strong desire to learn more about a particular topic? I would love to hear about it in the comments. 

Happy and safe family travels. 

Leave a Reply

